This is how the table of the top Grand Slam winners remained: Nadal enlarged his legend and surpassed Federer and Djokovic

Rafael Nadal became the greatest Grand Slam tournament winner in history (REUTERS)

This Sunday is, without a doubt, a historic day for world tennis. Rafael Nadal came from behind an epic final in the Australian Open before the Russian Daniil Medvedev and was left with the victory. Thus, he won the title of Grand Slam number 21 of his career, becoming the most winning of all time in major tournaments. The Spanish beat the Swiss Roger Federer and to Serbian Novak Djokovic, with whom he shared the merit of leading the race so far.

In a definition that lasted almost five and a half hours, the man born in Mallorca prevailed over the number two in the ranking by 2-6, 6-7(5), 6-4, 6-4 and 7-5. It was a really exciting match in which Rafa, who is currently ranked fifth in the world rankings, showed his character and winning mentality to win his second trophy in Melbourne (previously it had been consecrated in 2009).

How is Nadal’s list of 21 Grand Slam titles made up? He consecrated himself twice in the Australian Open (2009 and 2022), 13 times in Roland Garros (2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2017, 2018, 2019 and 2020, being the most winner of this tournament in history), two in Wimbledon (2008 and 2010) and four in the US Open (2010, 2013, 2017 and 2019).

The Spanish won the final against the Russian Daniil Medvedev (REUTERS / Loren Elliott)
The Spanish won the final against the Russian Daniil Medvedev (REUTERS / Loren Elliott)

In addition, with his crown in Australia, the Spaniard became the second tennis player to win all the titles of Grand Slam at least twice in the Open era, which started in 1968 (previously the Australians had achieved Roy Emerson Y Rod Laver). The first to achieve this merit had been Djokovic in 2021 with his consecration at Roland Garros.

Now, Nadal alone assumes the leadership of the table of greatest winners of Grand Slam tournaments in history and surpasses the Swiss Roger Federer and to Serbian Novak Djokovic, both with 20 trophies. The one born in Basel has 8 Wimbledons, 6 Australian Opens, 5 US Opens and 1 Roland Garros, while the one from Belgrade has 9 Australian Opens, 6 Wimbledons, 3 US Opens and 2 Roland Garros.

These three are also the absolute top winners in three of the four most prominent tournaments: Rafael at Roland Garros with 13, Roger at Wimbledon with 8, Novak in Australia with 9. The US Open? Federer shares the record with Pete Sampras and Jimmy Connors, all with 5 crowns.

A not minor detail in this race to be the maximum winner in history is that Federer has been dry for more than four years at the Grand Slams: last time he won a title of this magnitude in the Australia Open del 2018. Along the way, he only managed to reach the Wimbledon final in 2019, where he was beaten by Djokovic.

*Best plays from the Australian Open 2022 final


Rafael Nadal: 21 (13 Roland Garros, 4 US Open, 2 Wimbledon y 2 Australia Open)

Novak Djokovic: 20 (9 Australia Open, 6 Wimbledon, 3 US Open y 2 Roland Garros)

Roger Federer: 20 (8 Wimbledon, 6 Australia Open, 5 US Open y 1 Roland Garros)

Pete Sampras: 14 (7 Wimbledon, 5 US Open y 2 Australia Open)

Björn Borg: 11 (6 Roland Garros and 5 Wimbledon)

Ivan Lendl: 8 (3 Roland Garros, 3 Wimbledon y 2 Australia Open)

Jimmy Connors: 8 (5 US Open, 2 Wimbledon y 1 Australia Open)

Andre Agassi: 8 (4 Australia Open, 2 US Open, 1 Roland Garros y 1 Wimbledon)

John McEnroe: 7 (4 US Open y 3 Wimbledon)

Mats Wilander: 7 (3 Australia Open, 3 Roland Garros y 1 US Open)


11°- Stefan Edberg y Boris Becker: 6

12°- John Newcombe y Rod Laver: 5

13°- Guillermo Vilas, Ken Rosewall, Jim Courier and Manuel Santana: 4

14°- Andy Murray, Jan Kodes, Arthur Ashe, Stanislas Wawrinka and Gustavo Kuerten: 3

15°- Illie Nastase, Patrick Rafter, Lleyton Hewitt, Marat Safin, Stan Smith, Sergi Bruguera, Yevgeny Kafelnikov y Johan Kriek: 2

16°- Juan Martín del Potro, Gastón Gaudio, Andrés Gómez, Andy Roddick, Michael Chang, Goran Ivanisevic, Dominic Thiem, Vitas Gerulaitis, Pat Cash, Michael Stich, Juan Carlos Ferrero, Marin Cilic, Andrés Gimeno, Manuel Orantes, Roscoe Tanner, Petr Korda , Carlos Moyá, Mark Edmondson, Adriano Panatta, Brian Teacher, Yannick Noah, Thomas Muster, Richard Krajicek, Thomas Johansson and Albert Costa: 1


Leave a Comment