Bengals van al Super Bowl al vencer 27-24 a Chiefs

KANSAS CITY (AP) — Evan McPherson kicked a 31-yard field goal with 9:22 left in overtime after Joe Burrow kept his cool by leading a relentless second-half rally to carry the Cincinnati Bengals to the Super Bowl for the first time in 33 years with a 27-24 win over the Kansas City Chiefs in the AFC Final on Sunday.

The Bengals erased an 18-point deficit — tying an AFC Finals record — and took a 24-21 lead. But Harrison Butker’s 44-yard field goal as time expired sent the game into overtime, a week after his 49-yard field goal on the final play of regulation scored against Buffalo.

A week after Josh Allen missed the overtime toss — giving the ball to Patrick Mahomes and the Chiefs — Cincinnati backup Brandon Allen suffered the same fate. The Chiefs opened overtime with the ball, but Vonn Bell intercepted a pass from Mahomes on the third play and Burrow took care of the rest.

And now they are heading to the Super Bowl for the first time since 1989 after their first playoff overtime win in their history.

The Bengals (13-7) will play the winner of the NFC championship game between the San Francisco 49ers and Los Angeles Rams in the Super Bowl on Feb. 13 in Los Angeles.

Mahomes and the Chiefs (14-6) were left to mourn after blowing the chance to play in their third straight Super Bowl.

Leave a Comment