Lewandowski named world footballer, Tuchel best coach

Status: 01/17/2022 8:45 p.m

Bayern Munich striker Robert Lewandowski has been voted World Player of the Year for the second year in a row.

The 33-year-old Polish international defeated record winner Lionel Messi from Paris St. Germain and Liverpool’s exceptional Egyptian player Mohamed Salah at the “The Best FIFA Football Awards” gala on Monday (17.01.22). When the traditional Ballon d’Or was awarded in November, Messi landed ahead of Lewandowski.

Lewandowski was the first professional from the Bundesliga last year to receive the world footballer’s honor. The only German winner at the premiere in 1991 was Lothar Matthäus (Inter Milan). In 2020, Lewandowski triumphed in front of Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo.

Putellas wins in the women’s

Alexia Putellas from Spain was voted World Player of the Year. The 27-year-old Spaniard from Champions League winner FC Barcelona prevailed against her teammate Jennifer Hermoso and Australia’s Sam Kerr (Chelsea FC).

Last year, England international Lucy Bronze had cleared the trophy. The last German world footballer was Nadine Kessler in 2014.

Tuchel prevails with the coaches

Chelsea coach Thomas Tuchel laughs

Image: Alexander Hassenstein – UEFA/UEFA via Getty Images

World Coach of the Year 2021 is Thomas Tuchel from Champions League winners Chelsea. The team manager of Champions League winners FC Chelsea prevailed against Roberto Mancini from European champions Italy and Pep Guardiola from Manchester City at the “The Best FIFA Football Awards” gala.

The previous winners of this award were Claudio Ranieri (2016), Zinedine Zidane (2017), Didier Deschamps (2018) and Jürgen Klopp (2019 and 2020). The women’s title went to Emma Hayes, also from Chelsea.

Mendy wins with the goalkeepers, beaten Neuer

Chelsea’s Edouard Mendy has been voted world goalkeeper of the year, preventing Bayern’s Manuel Neuer from winning the title again.

Mendy prevailed against the captain of the German soccer record champion and the German national team as well as Italy’s European champion Gianluigi Donnarumma (Paris Saint-Germain).

Mendy wins Champions League with Chelsea

Senegalese Mendy played a major role in the triumph of German coach Thomas Tuchel’s London club in the premier class.

Neuer had won the championship with the German record champions in the 2020/21 season, and FC Bayern had won the triple in the previous season. Donnarumma, who joined Paris from AC Milan in the summer, saved two penalties in the EURO final against England in a shoot-out and was voted player of the tournament.

The previous winners of this award were Gianluigi Buffon (2017), Thibaut Courtois (2018), Alisson Becker (2019) and Neuer (2020).

Endler wins for women, Berger misses an award

In the women’s game, Chilean Christiane Endler from Olympique Lyon beat German international Ann-Katrin Berger (FC Chelsea) and Canadian Stephanie Lynn Marie Labbé (Paris Saint-Germain).

Berger lost 4-0 to FC Barcelona with her club in the Champions League final in 2021. The captains and coaches of the national teams, selected journalists and fans from all over the world were entitled to vote.

Those: sportschau.de


Leave a Comment