Federal government: Italy and Canada become high risk areas

As of December 30, 2021 11:50 a.m.

Due to the rapidly increasing number of infections, Italy, Canada, Malta and San Marino are considered high-risk areas from January 1st. Mauritius, on the other hand, is removed from the list of the Federal Foreign Office.

As of January 1st, the Federal Foreign Office has identified new high-risk areas: In addition to Italy and Canada, Malta and San Marino are also on the list published by the Robert Koch Institute. On the other hand, Mauritius is deleted from the list. Nine countries are also still considered virus variant areas, including Great Britain and South Africa.

Ten days of quarantine for the unvaccinated

Anyone who enters from a high-risk area and is not fully vaccinated or recovered has to be in quarantine for ten days and can only get rid of it with a negative test five days after arrival at the earliest. Children under the age of twelve must be quarantined for five days. Vaccinated and convalescent people have to register their entry digitally.

The classification makes it easier for tourists to cancel trips that have already been booked free of charge, but does not mean a travel ban. Countries and regions with a particularly high risk of infection are classified as high-risk areas. But it is not just the infection numbers that are decisive. Other criteria are the speed at which the virus is spreading, the burden on the health system or a lack of data on the corona situation.

Rules tightened because of Omikron

Virus variant areas, on the other hand, are areas in which variants of the coronavirus are circulating that are not yet as widespread in Germany, such as the much more contagious Omicron variant. The federal government had only recently tightened the rules for entry from virus variant areas due to the spread of the omicron variant. Anyone entering Germany from such an area will need a current negative PCR test upon entry in the future.

In addition, everyone – including those who have recovered or who have been vaccinated – must adhere to a strict 14-day quarantine; there is no “self-testing option” here. Exception: Anyone who has complete vaccination protection can end the quarantine by sending the vaccination certificate if the RKI has determined that this vaccine is sufficiently effective against the virus variant.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.