Nelson Crispín is the best athlete of 2021 according to the Colombian Paralympic Committee

Nelson Crispín recognized as the best Para Athlete of 2021 by the Colombian Paralympic Committee

After the excellent participation of the For Athletes at the Tokyo Paralympic GamesThis Thursday, December 16, the best of Paralympic sport was honored. The big winner of the night was For Swimmer Nelson Crispín after adding four medals in recent jousts, one of gold, two of silver and one more of bronze.

Athletes, guides, coaches, sponsors, administrators and the media gathered at the event to reward the highlights of 2021. The opening was led by the president of the Paralympic Committee, Julio César Ávila.

The Minister of Sports was present at the event, Guillermo Herrera Castaño, the vice minister of connectivity and digitization of the Ministry of ICT, María del Rosario Oviedo, Gustavo Adolfo Araque, president of the official Colombian postal company and the director of Communications Industry, Nicolas Almeyda

The Committee delivered 14 statuettes in recognition of the Tokyo 2020 medalists. Among them were the Para swimmers, Nelson Crispín, Laura González and Carlos Daniel Serrano and the Para athletes, Gregorio Lemos, Faisury Jiménez and Angie Pabón and her guide Dahir Arizala.

Once the awards ceremony began, the first category to be awarded was that of Paralympic life and work. Among the nominees were Tolima, Palmira and Bogotá. In the end, the one who took the award was the Tolima department.

Later, the award of the Featured Paralympic contest, this was obtained by the National Paracycling Championship.

As a central event, it was time to reward the athletes, guides, coaches and administrators who stood out for their role and contribution to Paralympic sport. The first recognition was given to the guide or assistant of the year. Nominees included Luis Dahir Arizala, the runner’s guide, Angie Pabón, and the guide, Esteban Aguirre, assistant to the field athlete, Yessenia Restrepo. The winner of this category was the paisa, Esteban Aguirre.

“I want to thank the Committee for this award, the truth was I did not expect it at all. I had been doing my job for a long time and with Yessenia it has been different. I am totally grateful “, said Aguirre after obtaining this recognition

Minutes later it was the coaches’ turn, the undisputed winner was the coach of For Swimming, William Jiménez Niño. The next to participate were the nominees for the category For revelation athlete of the year, there they were Faisury Jimenez, Juan José Betancourt and Jean Carlos Mina. Finally, the winner was the runner, Faisury Jimenez.

Jiménez did not hide his emotion and after receiving the award he stated, “Thank you very much, I am very excited, I thought my partner was going to win so it was a surprise. This is my first award, let there be many more ”.

Continuing with the Night of Paralympic sport, it was the turn to award the promise athlete of the year. With candidates like Sara Vargas and Omar Acosta. The winner of this category was the Para Nadadora, Sara vargas.

“I’m really excited about this beautiful award, a reward for teamwork, the work of my coach, my family, God and the Paralympic Committee for making this country more inclusive, “said the athlete

To close the night, the award was presented for Athlete of the year. The nominees were, the Para swimmers, Nelson Crispín and Carlos Daniel Serrano and the Para Athlete, Gregorio Lemos. Ultimately, the winner was the multimedia player in Tokyo, Nelson Crispin.

About this award the swimmer said, “I am very happy, proud to win this award. For me it is a pride and it gives me an impulse to continue working in sports and swimming”.


Nicolás Benedetti was confirmed by Mazatlán, his return to Colombian football must wait
Deportes Tolima was scared, but tied and confirmed his attendance at the Colombian soccer final

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *