Poland and Switzerland will be corona high-risk areas

Status: 03.12.2021 01:06 p.m.

With Switzerland and Poland, Germany classifies other neighboring countries as corona high-risk areas. Anyone who enters from there and is not fully vaccinated or recovered must be in quarantine for at least five days.

Due to the high number of corona infections, the federal government is classifying Switzerland and Poland as high-risk areas from Sunday, as the Robert Koch Institute has announced. Anyone who comes from these countries and is not fully vaccinated or recovered has to be in quarantine for ten days and can only get rid of it with a negative test five days after arrival at the earliest.

Switzerland is a popular winter travel destination for Germans among the new high-risk areas. Liechtenstein, Jordan and Mauritius are now also re-classified in this way. Thailand, Uzbekistan and St. Vincent and the Grenadines in the Caribbean will be removed from the risk list.

Free cancellation for tourists

The classification as a high-risk area is automatically accompanied by a travel warning from the Federal Foreign Office for unnecessary tourist trips. It makes it easier for tourists to cancel trips that have already been booked free of charge, but it does not mean a travel ban.

Countries and regions with a particularly high risk of infection are classified as high-risk areas. But not only the infection numbers are decisive for this. Other criteria are the speed at which the virus is spreading, the burden on the health system or a lack of data on the corona situation.

More than 60 high risk areas, eight virus variant areas

In the meantime, there were no corona high-risk areas in the European Union in late summer. In the past few weeks, however, numerous EU countries have already been put back on the risk list, including the neighboring German countries of the Netherlands, Belgium and Austria with the exception of individual municipalities.

From Sunday onwards, more than 60 countries around the world will be wholly or partially listed as high-risk areas by the RKI. There are also eight virus variant areas in Africa, for which even stricter entry restrictions apply. They had been classified in the highest risk category because of the spread of the omicron variant of the coronavirus.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *