River is enshrined champion with a win over Racing

River Plate became champion by thrashing Racing Club 4-0 on Thursday against 70,000 fans at the Monumental, in a duel for the 22nd round of the Argentine Soccer Professional League.

Agustín Palavecino scored the first goal at 31 minutes. They extended Julián Alvarez at 47 and Braian Romero signed a double with targets at 67 and 77.

The millionaires received the champion medals and the winners trophy after the win.

“It is an award for the work that we have been doing,” Álvarez told television. “River has a lot of work. You can see the fruits. We are going to train with great joy and then it is reflected on the court ”.

Marcelo Gallardo thus got his first national title as DT River Plate. Gallardo accumulates 13 championships as a coach in one of the most successful cycles in the club’s history. Millionaires are champions without any discussion and by a wide margin. They add 52 points compared to the 40 of their bodyguards, Defense and Justice and Workshops, with three days left.

“We’re very close. We all push forward and when they need us we are there ”, expressed veteran defender Javier Pinola. Regarding Gallardo, he stated: “He keeps the group motivated. The titles endorse it ”.

Before the start of each game, Diego Maradona was remembered a year after his death on all the first division courts in Argentina.

Surprisingly Racing dominated at the start. At 3, Enzo Copetti fired only at Franco Armani, who intervened promptly. With the passing of the minutes, the riverplatenses strengthened and took control of the game. At 12, visiting goalkeeper Gabriel Arias contained a shot from Robero and at 24 Julián Álvarez headed wide.

The first goal came from the left of the local attack. There Enzo Fernández appeared, who enabled Palavecino. The midfielder played first for the 1-0.

Romero was able to extend to 40 with a header, but Arias responded.

Álvarez settled the lawsuit with a definition of the first crusade after a rebound for 2-0 at the start of the complement. The Argentine national team thus scored his 17th goal to remain the top gunner in the competition.

Romero signed the third by defining only against Arias, who brushed the ball but could not avoid the conquest. The former Defense and Justice scored for the second time by taking advantage of a pass from Jorge Carrascal and defining from the right.

“It was what we all dreamed of. Get the championship with our people ”, assured Armani. “The perfect match came out.”

In another result, Rosario Central beat Colón 4-1 as a visitor with three goals from Marco Ruben; Emiliano Vecchio closed the account. The both Sabalero was the work of Gonzalo Piovi. Ruben reached 97 goals with the auriazul shirt to become the second top scorer for Central in AFA competitions.

Lanús and Platense drew 3-3 in a changing match. Guillermo Burdisso opened the account for the locals. Matías Tissera tied for a penalty. The garnets went 3-1 with goals from José López and José Sand. Finally, the squid scored two goals with Horacio Tijanovich and the second by Tissera for final equality.

Unión defeated bottom Arsenal 1-0 in Sarandí with the score of Emanuel Brítez at 90.

On Wednesday, Independiente defeated Boca Juniors 1-0, while Defensa y Justicia beat Atlético Tucumán 4-0 as a visitor to reach second place.

Other results: Gymnastics and Fencing La Plata 5, Workshops 2; Hurricane 1, Board 0; Aldosivi 2, San Lorenzo 0; Velez Sarsfield 2, Argentinos Juniors 0; Godoy Cruz 1, Students 3 (Tuesday); Sarmiento 0, Banfield 0; Newell’s Old Boys 1, Central Córdoba 0 (Wednesday).

Positions: River 52 points; Defense, Workshops 40; Velez 38; Boca, Lanús 36; Students, Colón 35; Independent, Gymnastics 34; Hurricane 32; Rosario Central 30; Union 28; Godoy Cruz, Aldosivi 27; Racing, Argentinos, Newell’s 26; Platense, Sarmiento 24; Board 23; Banfield 22; Atlético Tucumán 21; Central Córdoba, San Lorenzo 20; Arsenal 19.

Next date (23rd): Talleres-Aldosivi, Patronato-Godoy Cruz, Estudiantes-Vélez, Rosario Central-River, Defensa-Colón, Argentinos-Gimnasia, Boca-Newell’s, Unión-Atlético Tucumán, Racing-Lanús, Platense-Huracán, Central Córdoba-Arsenal, San Lorenzo-Sarmiento, Banfield-Independiente.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *